Listen Live
92Q Listen Live
92Q Jams Featured Video
The city hall of Baltimore Maryland

Source: f11photo / Getty

Baltimore voters have approved the “Question K” ballot question which will establish term limits for city officials.

The mayor, the comptroller, the city council president, and city council members will now be limited to two terms over a 12-year period.

RELATED: Democratic Candidate Wes Moore Makes History In Maryland After Being Elected As State’s First Black Governor

All candidates will start with a clean slate in 2024, meaning most wouldn’t be affected until 2032. In addition, term-limited candidates are also able to seek another role in city government.

The ballot measure had come under heavy criticism from Democratic officials, saying it will limit voter choice and devalue expertise.

RELATED: Maryland Midterm Election Results [Click Here]

Additionally, Baltimore voters also voted in favor of “Question H” which will revert the Baltimore Police Department to local control which is currently overseen by the state government.

Join Our Text Club To Get The Latest Music, Entertainment, Contests And Breaking News On Your Phone. Text BALTIMORE to 24042 to join!

Ivan Bates will also take office as Baltimore City State’s Attorney.

RELATED: Maryland Votes In Favor Of Recreational Marijuana Use

To see more election results for Baltimore City and Baltimore County, click here.

Get Breaking News & Exclusive Content in Your Inbox: